Third Mainland Bridge Closure: LASWA, NIWA deploy safety system, map out new routes


To cushion the effect of the Third Mainland Bridge repairs, the Lagos State Waterways Authority (LASWA) in collaboration with the National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) has shown preparedness by mapping out alternative routes so that Lagosians can get to their destinations faster using the waterways.

According to a statement issued in Lagos on Sunday by the General Manager, LASWA, Mr. Damilola Emmanuel, LASWA is also in partnership with the Lagos State Emergency Management Authority (LASEMA) and Lagos State Safety Commission to deploy all safety systems to ensure maximum safety on the waterways.

The statement listed some of the safety systems that had been put in place to include the deployment of Safety Marshals, LASWA Water Guards, security provided by the Marine Police with Strategic positioning at Yaba, Oworo, Marina and Falomo, just to mention a few whilst also patrolling the routes during peak periods and Water Ambulances to jetties in these strategic locations.

It added that ferries plying these routes would be available from 6:00 am – 6:00pm daily even as it advised passengers to adhere strictly to all safety guidelines as provided by the Lagos State Government.

“Make sure to wash your hands before boarding or use a hand sanitizer, wear a face mask at all times, maintain social distancing on the queue, wear your life jacket properly and follow instructions”, the statement said.

These routes, according to the statement are as follows; Ikorodu Terminal – Ebute-ero, Ilaje(Bariga), Addax Jetty (Sandfill), Five Cowries Terminal (Falomo), CMS, Apapa (Liverpool); Ilaje (Bariga) Terminal – Ikorodu ,Ebute ero ,CMS, Flour Mills (Apapa) , Addax Jetty (Sandfill) , Five Cowries Terminal (Falomo) , Lekki, Law School and Ilaje ( Bariga)Terminal – Badore, Oke Ira Nla.

Others include; Badore (Ajah) – Ijede (Ikorodu); CMS Marina – Apapa (Flour Mills, Liverpool); Ajah (Badore, Oke Ira Nla) – Addax Jetty (Sandfill), Five Cowries Terminal (Falomo) and Adekunle – Apapa, CMS, Lekki, VI, Falomo; Oyingbo – Apapa, CMS, Lekki, Falomo; Mile 2 – Ajegunle, Apapa, CMS and Lekki; Lekki – Badore, Ilaje (Bariga), Bayeku, Ikorodu.

Send your news, press releases/articles to Also, follow us on Twitter @ptreporters and on Facebook on or call the editor on 07030661526, 08053908817.



Leave A Reply