NPA MD bags Corporate Governance Excellence Award


The Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority, Mallam Habib Abdullahi has been conferred with an Award of the Best Performing Chief Executive of the year 2014 by MOD Communications, publishers of the Nigerian Pilot Newspaper and Nigeria Newsworld Magazine.

The Prestigious Award was conferred on the Managing Director at a well-attended ceremony at the Ladi Kwali Hall of the Sheraton Hotels and Towers, Abuja on Tuesday December 9, 2014 by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Power, Ambassador God knows Igali on behalf of the organizers.

While conferring the Award on Malam Abdullahi, Ambassador Igali said the Managing Director of NPA was conferred the award in recognition of his selfless services, exemplary leadership in public service, proactive discharge of constitutional responsibilities and positive contributions to the growth and development of Nigeria’.

The award was received on his behalf by the Executive Director, Finance and Administration of the Authority, Mr. Olumide Oduntan.

Other Awardees include the Governors of Delta and Abia States, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and Chief Theodore Orji, Hon. Ministers of Agriculture and Works, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina and Arc. Mike Onolememem, Mr. GimbaYa’uKumo, Managing Director, Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria and Former Minister of Health, Prof. Onyebuchi Chuckwu.

Also given Awards are; the Director General of NIMASA, Mr. Patrick Akpobolokemi, Director General of Securities and Exchange Commission. Ms Aruma Oteh, Hon. Nkiru Onyejeocha, Chairman, House Committee on Aviation, Dr. Ado Muhammad, Chief Executive officer of National Primary Health Care Development Agency and Engineer Muhammad Sani Sidi, Director General, National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA.

In his remarks, the publisher of Nigerian Pilot and Nigerian Newsworld Magazine, Prince Dennis Sami noted that the Awardees have worked tirelessly for Nigeria, adding that they are being recognized and awarded for carrying the banner of leadership satisfactorily and have also touched the lives of Nigerians.

He explained that the recipients were chosen among many nominees through electronic voting by Nigerians across ages, tribes, zones, sex etc.

The ceremony was part of activities marking the 4th Annual Public Lecture and Award by the Newspaper and it was chaired by Senator Bode Olajumoke.

Highlight of the occasion was the Award lecture titled; Nigeria after 2015; Issues and Challenges, delivered by Prof. Oserhemen Osunbor, former Governor of Edo State.







Leave A Reply