Abubakar Tsanni emerges CRFFN Governing Council Chairman


…As Henry Njoku beats Increase Uche to emerge Vice Chairman

…Inauguration holds tomorrow

Government appointee, Alhaji Abubakar Tsanni has been appointed the new Chairman of the Governing Council of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) by the Minister of Transportation, Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi while a chieftain of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Chief Henry Njoku emerged the Vice Chairman.

The appointment however, was in clear violation of the CRFFN Act which stipulates that the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Council shall be elected from the elected freight forwarding practitioners who shall preside over the affairs of the Council for a two year period.

It was gathered that while the Council members had assembled for inauguration, the Minister however, arrived at the venue and demanded to appoint a Chairman that he could be able to work with contrary to the expectation of the members.

Attempts by the freight forwarders to draw the attention of the Minister to the provisions of the Act on the modalities to elect a Chairman for the Council was practically rebuffed as the Minister was said to have shouted them down saying that he had not come to the venue to Inaugurate the Board but to seek members’ advice on who should be the Chairman.

It was gathered that the Minister threatened to invite the legal adviser of the Ministry to the venue should they want to quote the CRFFN Act.

Primetime Reporters learnt that after several nominations were made by members and turned down by Amaechi, he finally approved the nomination of Alhaji Abubakar Tsanni.

The Minister thereafter allowed election into the office of the Vice Chairman of the Council which later saw Chief Henry Njoku of ANLCA beating the National President of the National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF), Chief Increase Uche by 21 votes to 8 to clinch the position of Vice Chairman.

This medium gathered that the inauguration of the members of the CRFFN Governing Council would be performed by the Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi on Thursday at 9.00am.

Send your news, press releases/articles to info@primetimereporters.com. Also, follow us on Twitter @ptreporters and on Facebook on facebook.com/primetimereporters or call the editor on 07030661526, 08053908817.


Leave A Reply