Ogbonnaya emerges new NAAJ Chairman as Kagbare clinches Secretary-General


Mr. Emmanuel Ogbonnaya was yesterday elected the new Chairman of the Nigerian Association of Agricultural Journalists (NAAJ).

Ogbonnaya who was returned unopposed succeeds the founding Chairman of the association, Mr. Stanley Ihedigbo who had superintended over the association in the last five years.

Also elected during the election are; Mr. Kelvin Kagbare as the Secretary General, Mr. Barnabas Essiet as the  Treasurer while Ada Dikewas returned as the Assistant Financial Secretary.

In his acceptance speech as NAAJ President, Mr. Emmanuel Ogbonnaya, thanked the NAAJ electoral team for a job well done.

While also thanking NAAJ members who participated actively in the exercise, Ogbonnaya expressed his preparedness to serve NAAJ selflessly.

In his words, “We shall change the narrative as it pertains to NAAJ. Some persons tried to weaken NAAJ out of ignorance. I intend to reunite everyone and bring those who have gone astray back home to NAAJ where we all belong”.

The NAAJ Chairman charged his team to be prepared for work as his RICE Agenda for NAAJ would be implemented to the latter.

Mr. Ogbonnaya said he was deeply touched by the call from Mr. Fadare who, though bedridden, showed his commitment to NAAJ financially and morally.

He assured members that the days of mutual suspicions and distrust are over. He invited all Journalists covering Agriculture to come together, reinvent the wheel, synergize and make speedier progress.

Mr. Ayo Fadinmu in his vote of thanks said he was delighted to witness the election ànd be part of history.

“For many years, we laboured to nurture NAAJ. It is very gratifying to witness this smooth, seamless transition. I will always be available to make my contributions to ensure that NAAJ grows stronger, bigger and better”, Fadinmu said.

The elected officers were immediately sworn into office by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mr. Charles Okonji.

Media colleagues and the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) officials were among observers who witness the epoch election.

Photo: (L-R) The new Chairman of NAAJ, Mr. Emmanuel Ogbonnaya and the new Secretary-General, Mr. Kelvin Kagbare during the swearing ceremony in Lagos yesterday.

Send your news, press releases/articles to augustinenwadinamuo@yahoo.com. Also, follow us on Twitter @ptreporters and on Facebook on facebook.com/primetimereporters or call the editor on 07030661526, 08053908817.


Leave A Reply