Anaroke returned as President as League of Maritime Editors holds AGM


The League of Maritime Editors and Publishers has elected new officers to manage the affairs of the Association in the next two years.

The election which was rancour-free saw the return of Mr. Kingsley Anaroke as the President with Mr. Shola Fadeyi as the Vice President.

While Mr. Francis Ugwoke was returned unopposed as the Secretary, Mr. Okey Iroegbu would assist him in the onerous task.

Mazi Tony Ohakwe was retained as the Treasurer while the position of the Financial Secretary went to Mr. Felix Kumuyi of the Trans quest Magazine.

Both Mr. Shola Mekusi and Deacon Friday Odemena would act as the welfare Officer and the Public Relations Officer (PRO) respectively.

Speaking at the occasion, Elder Asu Beks who was the Returning Officer for the election commended the manner in which the election was conducted smoothly without any acrimony.

He therefore advised the new exco to work hard for the betterment of the association in the next two years. Elder Asu Beks particularly commended the immediate past Exco led by Mr. Kingsley Anaroke for getting an exquisite office for the league located at First Avenue, Festac Town. He said that this was something that eluded the association for 22 years.

The office would be commissioned very soon.

Members of the association, who also spoke at the end of the election, advised the new exco to work in harmony in order to uplift the image of the association.

The League of Maritime Editors and Publishers is made up of mainly pioneers in Nigeria’s maritime journalism. They are generally considered as elders in the profession.

The League was founded in May 1998 with about eight maritime journalists as founding members.

Photo: Re-elected President of League of Maritime Editors and Publishers, Mr. Kingsley Anaroke.

Send your news, press releases/articles to Also, follow us on Twitter @ptreporters and on Facebook on or call the editor on 07030661526, 08053908817.


Leave A Reply