CRFFN Election: Joint Freight Forwarders’ Association insist on five slots for Eastern Zone


… Says five Eastern candidates must be resident in the East

… Rejects imposition of candidates

The Joint Freight Forwarders’ Association in the Eastern Zone yesterday met in Port-Harcourt with the election of the freight forwarders into the Governing Board of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) taking the centre stage.

In a communiqué issued at the end of the meeting, it was resolved that the freight forwarders in the east should be ready to participate in the election in any centralized venue the electoral committee for the election should approve in Nigeria outside Lagos.

The meeting further resolved that if the electoral committee decided to decentralize the election venue to Lagos in the West, the same should be held in the East simultaneously.

The meeting also resolved that the five member slots provided in the Act for the freight forwarding operating in the Eastern Zone must be reserved for resident practicing freight forwarders in the Eastern Zone.

“That the Eastern Zone shall resist imposition of candidates not resident in the East by any guise for the purpose of the election based on the provisions of the Act.”

The communiqué was signed by the Chairman, Association of Nigeria Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Michael Ebeatu, Vice Chairman, National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF), Hypolite Onumajuru, Chairman, Association of Registered Freight Forwarders Nigeria (AREFFN), Obinna Ugochukwu, Secretary, Onne chapter of the National Council of Managing Directors of Licensed Customs Agents (NCMDLCA), Emeh Samuel and Zonal Secretary, ANLCA, Eastern Zone, Sir Joshua I. Ahuama.

Send your news, press releases/articles to Also, follow us on Twitter @ptreporters and on Facebook on or call the editor on 07030661526, 08053908817.



Leave A Reply